English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Modi govt classifies schemes aimed at women and children under three umbrella programmes for better implementation

Union Minister Smriti Zubin Irani

On the International Women’s Day, the Narendra Modi government decided to classify various schemes and programmes under three brackets– Mission Poshan 2.0, Mission Vatsalya and Mission Shakti. The move is aimed at a more effective implementation. The three umbrella schemes will subsume the existing programmes.

Mission Shakti will be an overarching scheme which will cover programmes such as Beti Bachao Beti Padhao, Pradhan Mantri Matru Vandana Yojana besides providing a one stop platform for mahila police volunteer and women's helpline among other things.

According to the ministry of women and child development, the supplementary nutrition programme and Poshan Abhiyan will be merged to form Poshan 2.00, to strengthen reach and outcomes. An amount of Rs 20,105 crore has been allocated for the scheme in the Union Budget 2021-22. Mission Vatsalaya with an allocation of Rs 900 crore will include child protection and welfare services. 

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was also signed between the ministry of women and child development and Invest India to enhance co-operation in the thematic areas of nutrition, child protection and development and women empowerment.

An official statement noted that women and children comprise 67.7 per cent of India’s population as per the 2011 census. “Empowerment and protection of women and children and ensuring their wholesome development is crucial for sustainable and equitable development of the country,” the statement read, adding that the ministry of women and child development strives to ensure well-nourished and happy children growing in a safe and secure environment and empower women by providing them with an environment which is accessible, affordable, reliable and free from all forms of discrimination and violence.