English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

100% electrification of Odisha broad gauge railway network completed

Photo for representation

The Indian Railways has completed 100% electrification of the existing broad gauge network of Odisha stretching across 2,822 route kilometre which will reduce the line haul cost by 2.5 times, increase the capacity to carry freight and passengers and cut maintenance cost of locomotives, according to official information provided today.

The energy efficient and eco-friendly mode of transportation will also reduce the dependence on imported crude oil and result in the saving of foreign exchange as Indian Railways works towards achieving the target of becoming a Net Zero Carbon Emitter by 2030.

Odisha state’s territory falls in the jurisdiction of East Coast, South Eastern & South East Central Railways. Some of the major railway stations in Odisha are: Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Sambalpur, Bhadrak, Rourkela, and Jharsuguda. The railway network plays an important role in the transportation of minerals, agricultural products, and other goods from Odisha to other parts of the country.

First railway line in Odisha was constructed between Cuttack – Khurda Road – Puri in 1897.

Some of the prestigious trains of Odisha state are: Howrah-Puri Express, Konark Express, Coromandel Express, Hirakud Express, Visakha Express, and Bhubaneswar-New Delhi Rajdhani Express. These trains provide convenient connectivity to various parts of the state and other major cities in India.