English News


Watch: Afghanistan fans celebrate historic win over Pakistan in Sharjah

Afghanistan's first-ever victory over Pakistan in international cricket also put them 1-0 up in the three-match series with the next match scheduled in Sharjah on Sunday (Image courtesy: Twitter/@ACBofficials)

Afghanistan fans all over the world continue to celebrate their team’s memorable six-wicket triumph over Pakistan in the first T20I at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday. 

The comprehensive win is Afghanistan’s first-ever victory over Pakistan in international cricket and put them 1-0 up in the three-match series.

Electing to bat first, Pakistan gave T20I debuts to four players, including left-handed opening batter Saim Ayub, Tayyab Tahir, Ihsanullah, and Zaman Khan.

However, the team struggled to build momentum throughout their innings, with Afghanistan’s bowlers restricting them to just 92 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs.

Imad Wasim top-scored for Pakistan with 18 runs off 32 balls, while Saim scored 17 off 15 balls which included two fours and a six.

Afghanistan’s Fazal Haq (2/13), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (2/9) and Mohammad Nabi (2/12) shared 6 wickets between them, whereas the skipper Rashid Khan (1/15), Azmatullah (1/20) and Naveen Ul Haq (1/19) returned one wicket each.

Chasing a modest 93 runs to win, Afghanistan reached their target in 17.5 overs, losing just four wickets.

Mohammad Nabi scored an unbeaten 38 runs to guide his team to victory while Najibullah Zadran remained not out on 17 runs. The pair was involved in a match-winning 53-run unbeaten partnership for the fifth wicket after Afghanistan were reeling at 45 for four in the 10th over.

Nabi was named the player of the match for his all-round performance.

The second T20I of the series will be played at the same venue on Sunday.

Brief Scores:

Pakistan: 92/9 in 20 overs (Imad Wasim 18, Saim Ayub 17, Tayyab Tahir 16; Mujeeb-ur-Rahman 2-9, Mohammad Nabi 2-12, Fazalhaq Farooqi 2-13)

Afghanistan: 98/4 in 17.5 overs (Mohammad Nabi 38 not out, Najibullah Zadran 17 not out; Ihsanullah 2-17)