English News


Watch: Afghanistan celebrates historic series win over Pakistan in Sharjah

Selfie time: Afghanistan skipper Rashid Khan with his team after the historic triumph over Pakistan in Sharjah (Image courtesy: Twitter/@ACBofficials)

In yet another incredible show with the bat and ball, Afghanistan beat Pakistan by 7 wickets in the second game of the three-match T20Is to clinch a historic series win in Sharjah.

Batting first for the second successive time in the series after winning the toss, Pakistan put on a poor display once again, losing five wickets inside 11 overs with just 63 runs on the board.

Skipper Shadab (32) and all-rounder Imad Wasim (64) were then involved in a face-saving 67-run partnership as Pakistan ended its innings at 130/6 in the allotted 20 overs.

Fazal Haq Farooqi was the standout performer with the ball, finishing with impressive figures of 2/19 in his four overs. Rashid Khan also made a significant contribution, taking 1/16 in his four overs.

In reply, Afghanistan got off to a solid start with Rahmanullah Gurbaz (44) and Ibrahim Zadran (38) making top contributions. Najibullah Zadran (23 not out) and Mohammad Nabi (14 not out) wrapped up the proceedings as Afghanistan romped home to a historical series win over Pakistan with a ball to spare.

Fazalhaq Farooqi was adjudged the player of the match for his splendid performance.

The victory is an incredible achievement for Afghanistan, as they registered their first-ever series win against Pakistan in any format of the game. The Afghan players and fans were understandably overjoyed with the result, as it signaled a new era of success and dominance for the team on the international stage. The third and final T20I will be played later today.

Brief Scores:

Pakistan: 130/6 in 20 overs (Imad Wasim 64 not out, Shadab Khan 32; Fazalhaq Farooqi 2-19)

Afghanistan: 133/3 in 19.5 overs (Rahmanullah Gurbaz 44, Ibrahim Zadran 38, Najibullah Zadran 23 not out, Mohammad Nabi 14 not out)

Also Read: Watch: Afghanistan fans celebrate historic win over Pakistan in Sharjah