English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

India removes Bangladesh from list of “at-risk” countries amid Omicron scare

Omicron scare

India has removed Bangladesh from the recently issued list of “at-risk” countries in the wake of the new Omicron variant of the Covid 19 virus. Travellers coming into India from the “at-risk” countries are required to follow stringent measures including RT-PCR tests and quarantine on arrival. However there are no restrictions for travellers coming from countries which are not listed as “at-risk”.

According to Dhaka Tribune, the move by New Delhi came following requests by Dhaka.

The UK, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel – have been identified as “at risk” countries.

Also read: Omicron variant spreads to Portugal, Spain & Canada too, taking total count to over a dozen countries

The World Health Organisation has said that blanket travel bans will not be a solution. However, it advised Covid vulnerable people and those above 60 years of age to avoid travelling.

Bangladesh health authorities have also issued directives to prevent the spread of this new strain.

Medical experts said that there is no evidence yet to ascertain that it is more severe than tthe other existing ones.

The new Omicron strain has been found in about 18 countries so far.

Meanwhile, Health Minister Mansukh Madaviya on Tuesday told Parliament that there are no cases of Omicron yet in India. He also assured that necessary steps have been taken to ensure that the new variant does not spread in the country.