English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Complete squads for the 2021 Caribbean Premier League announced

The 2021 Caribbean Premier League tournament gets underway on August 28 and runs until September 19 (Image courtesy: CPL)

The complete squads for the 2021 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) have been confirmed following the player draft. The 2021 tournament gets underway on August 28 and runs until September 19.

The star-studded line-ups feature the best cricketing talent from across the Caribbean as well as some of the biggest names in international cricket.

There have been a number of changes to the squads this year. Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo are teaming up at the St Kitts & Nevis Patriots with Sherfane Rutherford joining them. Keemo Paul has moved to the St Lucia Zouks and Oshane Thomas will now be representing the Barbados Tridents.

The overseas signings include Shakib al Hasan, Chris Morris, Faf du Plessis, Matthew Wade, Sandeep Lamichhane and Shoaib Malik. There are spots for Pakistani players Haider Ali, Azam Khan and Usman Qadir and Englishman Samit Patel will be playing at his first Hero CPL.

All 33 matches will be played at Warner Park in St Kitts with the final set to take place on 19 September.

First started in 2013, the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere.

There was a combined broadcast and digital viewership of over 500 million during the 2020 season to make it one of the most watched leagues in world cricket.

Trinbago Knight Riders are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Zouks and Jamaica Tallawahs.

Here is the complete list of squads:         

CPL 2021

CPL 2021