English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

“Continuously working to encourage research, innovation”: PM Modi extends wishes on National Science Day

Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: ANI)

Emphasising the government’s ongoing efforts to foster research and innovation, Prime Minister Narendra Modi extended his wishes to fellow citizens of the country on National Science Day on Wednesday.

“Greetings on National Science Day. Our government is continuously working to encourage research and innovation among the youth. This is important to realise our dream of a Viksit Bharat,” PM Modi said in a post on X.

In 1986, the Government of India, designated February 28 as National Science Day to commemorate the announcement of the discovery of the “Raman Effect.”

It refers to the inelastic scattering of light by matter, resulting in a shift in the frequency of the scattered light. In simpler words, it is a change in the wavelength of light that occurs when a light beam is deflected by molecules.

The Raman effect forms the basis for Raman spectroscopy, which is used by chemists and physicists to gain information about materials. Spectroscopy is the study of the interaction between matter and electromagnetic radiation.

National Science Day is observed to promote the significance of science in everyday life and highlight the various activities, endeavours, and accomplishments in the scientific field for the betterment of humanity.

The celebration aims to address issues, introduce innovative technologies, and foster development in science. It provides a platform for scientific-minded individuals in India, encouraging and popularizing science and technology among the public.

In a bid to propel the nation forward in the realm of science, and as part of the ‘Viksit Bharat mission’ Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday announced the names of the four astronauts who will be part of India’s first human space flight program, Gaganyaan, slated to be launched in 2024-25.

The four chosen Indian Air Force pilots are Group Captain Prashanth Nair, Group Captain Ajit Krishnan, Group Captain Angad Pratap, and Wing Commander Shubhanshu Shukla. The four astronauts were trained at Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center in Russia.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also reviewed the progress of the Gaganyaan mission and bestowed ‘astronaut wings’ on the astronaut-designates at Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. The Gaganyaan mission is India’s first human space flight program, for which extensive preparations are underway at various ISRO centres.