English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

I have no differences with Siddaramaiah, says DK Shivakumar

DK Shivakumar (Left) and Siddaramaiah(Right)

Tumkur: Amid speculation over who will be the new Chief Minister of Karnataka after the Congress’s victory in the Assembly polls, state party president DK Shivakumar on Sunday said that he has no differences with Siddaramaiah, who is being seen as a front-runner for the the top post.

“Some people said that I have differences with Siddaramaiah. There are no differences between us,” said Shivkumar while addressing a press conference in Tumkur on Sunday. The Karnataka Congress chief’s remarks came hours after posters were put up by the respective supporters of both leaders referring to them as the “next CM” of Karnataka.

“Many times I have sacrificed for the party. I sacrificed and helped and stood with Siddaramaiah. Wasn’t I patient when I was not made a minister in the beginning? I have given cooperation to Siddaramaiah,” he said.

After winning the assembly election on Saturday, the Congress now faces the challenge of deciding the chief minister amid the rivalry between Siddaramaiah  and DK Shivakumar.

Aiming to decide on the matter, Karnataka Congress leaders including the party president and newly elected MLAs of the party will hold a Congress Legislature Party meeting today in Bengaluru.

According to sources, the leaders will pass a resolution authorising the party’s high command to choose the CM and the Deputy CM. “Siddaramaiah is the first front-runner for the CM’s post, so the Congress high command is in favour of making him the chief minister,” sources said.

They further said that the party’s leadership has offered Shivakumar the post of the Deputy CM, acknowledging his hard work. He has also been offered an important ministry, sources said.

DK Shivakumar defeated JDS candidate B Nagaraju in the Kanakapura constituency by 1,22,392 votes while Siddaramaiah won the Varuna assembly seat defeating BJP’sV Somanna.

Congress won 135 seats while the  BJP managed to win 66 seats.

Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) bagged 19 seats. Independents have won two seats while Kalyana Rajya Pragathi Paksha and Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha won one seat each.