English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Howrah-Kalka Mail renamed as ‘Netaji Express’

Howrah-Kalka Mail is one of the oldest trains of Indian Railways

The Ministry of Railways announced today that it has rechristened the name of Train No. 12311/12312 Howrah-Kalka Mail as 'Netaji Express'.

It is noteworthy that Howrah-Kalka Mail is a very popular and one of the oldest trains of Indian Railways. The Howrah-Kalka Mail is running between Howrah (Eastern Railway) and Kalka (Northern Railway) via Delhi.

The decision comes just a few days before the 125th birth anniversary celebrations of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose begin on January 23. Government had announced yesterday that the day will now be celebrated as 'Parakram Diwas' every year.

A high-level committee, headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has already been constituted for deciding the programmes and to supervise and guide the commemoration celebrations.

The government announced that Parakram Diwas will inspire people of the country, especially the youth, to act with fortitude in the face of adversity just as Netaji did, and to infuse in them a spirit of patriotic fervour.

The committee constituted to commemorate the 125th birth anniversary celebrations in a befitting manner will decide on the activities for next 12 months.

The members of the committee include distinguished citizens, historians, authors, experts, family members of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, as well as eminent persons associated with Azad Hind Fauj (INA).

The committee will lend guidance to the commemoration activities in Delhi, Kolkata and other places associated with Netaji and Azad Hind Fauj, both in India as well as overseas.