English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Gujarat CM announces scheme for crop damage

<p class="p1">Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani announced a new scheme 'Mukhya Mantri Kisan Sahay Yojana' under which more than 56 lakh farmers in the state facing crop damage due to natural calamities will get compensation without paying any premium.</p>
<p class="p1">"The irregularity of rains is the biggest factor in economic loss to the farmers. The state government has decided to implement a scheme where the entire state is covered and none of the farmers are devoid of its benefits like crop loss aid in situations of calamities during Kharif season. The scheme will be beneficial to approximately 56 lakh farmers of the state."</p>
<p class="p1">"Unlike the Centre's crop insurance scheme, where only the farmers who paid a premium could avail the benefits, the 'Mukhya Mantri Kisan Sahay Yojana' will benefit farmers without paying any premium," said Rupani.</p>
<p class="p1">The scheme covers drought and excess or unseasonal rain. In cases of drought, those tehsils having rainfall less than 10 inches or where there is a gap of more than four weeks between two rainy days, will be considered as calamity affected.</p>
<p class="p1">Those districts in South Gujarat loke Bharuch, Narmada, Tapi, Surat, Navsari, Valsad and Dang, where rainfall of more than 35 inches occurred in 48 hours will be declared as excessive rainfall affected.</p>
<p class="p1">During the period between October 15 and November 15, if more than 50 mm rain fell continuously in 48 hours, those areas will be considered affected by unseasonal rain. The benefits of this scheme will be available only to those farmers who have carried out sowing in their fields.</p>
<p class="p1">For those farmers with 33 per cent to 60 per cent crop damage, financial help of Rs 20,000 per hectare will be given for a maximum of 4 hectares while those farmers who have incurred more than 60 per cent crop loss will get compensation of Rs 25,000 per hectare up to a maximum of four hectares.</p>
<p class="p1">A special portal will be developed where farmers can apply online. They can visit the E-gram centers in villages and get their applications registered. After the application's approval, the beneficiary farmers will get the aid directly transferred into their bank account through DBT. A grievance redressal mechanism for farmers will also be set up and a toll-free number will be provided.</p>
<p class="p1">The Chief Minister said that the list of calamity affected villages, tehsils, and other areas will be prepared by the District Collectors, who will have to submit the list within seven days of the calamity striking, to the state government's Revenue Department. The Department, within a week, will approve the list and issue appropriate orders.</p>.