English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Delimitation Commission inaugurates its new office

Delimitation Commission inaugurates its new office

Delimitation Commission Chairmen Justice Ranjana Desai today inaugurated the Commission's new office in Delhi. This office is located on the third floor of Hotel Ashoka, Chanakyapuri.

The Election Commission defines ‘delimitation’ as “the act or process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a country or a province having a legislative body.”

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and the two commissioners Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra were also present at the inauguration, according to an official press release.

The Delimitation Commission started functioning in March this year. It has held four formal meetings so far. Associate members have already been nominated for each state and Union Territory concerned. However, the Election Commission has not specified the names of the officials concerned for the delimitation purpose.

Meanwhile, the Delimitation Commission has kept June 15 this year as the date for the freezing of administrative districts in these states and UTs. Data collection work has also been completed for the purpose.

With this new office, formal deliberations with associate members are expected to start soon to expedite the process..