English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Cabinet appointments committee gives nod to 16 new postings

<p id="content">The appointments committee of Cabinet yesterday approved 16 new appointments of Joint Secretaries or those equivalent to it, in different Union ministries and key government bodies.</p>
Shyam Bhagat Negi, a 1990 batch IPS officer, has been appointed the joint Secretary in the Coal Ministry while 1992 batch IRS officer Amitabh Kumar named the Joint Secretary in the Department of Commerce.

M. Angamuthu was appointed made the Chairman of the Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority (APEDA) which comes under the Commerce Ministry. Meanwhile, Ashish Chatterjee was made the new Senior Directing Staff, SDS (Civil) in the prestigious National Defence College.

While Anurag Bajpai is the new Joint Secretary of the Department of Defence Production, Sanjay Lohiya is the new JS in the Ministry of Mines and Sukhendu Jyoti Sinha is made an Adviser in the Niti Aayog. The Panchayati Raj has also got a new JS in form of Rekha Yadav, while the Department of Personnel &amp; Training has got two Joint Secretaries in Asheesh Sharma and Rahul Singh.

Nitin Gadkari's Ministry of Road Transport and Highways which has been steering a lot of work amid the lockdown has also got a new hand – Mahmood Ahmed, as its JS.

Kesang Yangzom Sherpa was made the Member Secretary of the National Council for Teacher Education which comes under the Department of School Education &amp; literacy. Chetan Prakash Jain is the new JS and Financial Adviser in the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

M. Maheshwar Rao, a 1995 batch IAS officer, was made the JS and Financial Adviser in the Department of Space in Bengaluru. Meanwhile, G Jayanti will join him in the Department of Space as Joint Secretary, as well.

The appointments committee of Cabinet has made Aditi Das Rout as the Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Women and Child Development..