English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

BJP wins 4 of 7 assembly by-elections across states

Photo for representation

The Bharatiya Janata Party won four of the seven assembly seats in by-elections across states, the results for which were declared today.

The BJP has won in Uttar Pradesh’s Gola Gokrannath, Haryana’s Adampur, Bihar’s Gopalganj, and Odisha’s Dhamnagar.

The contest for UP’s Gola Gokarannath seat, which fell vacant after the death of its MLA Arvind Giri on September 6, was between Arvind Giri’s son Aman Giri (BJP) and the Samajwadi Party’s Vinay Tiwari, a former MLA.

In Gopalganj, the BJP’s Kusum Devi, whose husband Subhas Singh’s death necessitated the election, defeated the RJD candidate Mohan Prasad Gupta.

In Haryana, former chief minister Bhajan Lal’s family seat Adampur was retained by his grandson Bhavya Bishnoi to continue the 68-year legacy after the family switched from the Congress to BJP. Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi had resigned as Adampur MLA after he joined the BJP which had resulted in the byelection.

Among the other reults, the Tejashwi Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal has won in Bihar’s Mokama. The K Chandrashekar’s Rao’s Telangana Rashtriya Samithi won in Munugode and the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena faction won in Mumbai’s Andheri East seat.

Of the seven seats, the BJP held three seats, the Congress two, while the Shiv Sena and the RJD had one each before the byelections were announced.