English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

16-17 ministers to be sworn in Bihar today

Nitish Kumar will take oath as Chief Minister of Bihar for the fourth consecutive term. Around 16 to 17 ministers are expected to be sworn in along with him. The National Democratic Alliance won 125 seats in the 243-member Bihar Assembly in the recently held state poll.

Kumar could reportedly get two deputy chief ministers, like in neighboring Uttar Pradesh. Tarkishore Prasad  and Renu Devi from BJP are said to be the likely candidates for the high office.

It is clear that Bharatiya Janata Party leader and Kumar’s deputy Sushil Kumar Modi will not continue as deputy chief minister. Sushil Modi yesterday wrote on twitter, "The BJP and the Sangh Parivar gave me so much in the political life of 40 years. I will discharge the responsibility that will be given to me. No one can take away the post of the party worker."

The BJP has 74 seats against the Janata Dal-United's 43 in the Assembly, the rest of the numbers coming from smaller allies, VIP and HAM.