English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

10 candidates from Amarinder’s party opt for alliance partner BJP’s Lotus symbol to fight Punjab poll

Captain Amarinder Singh.(File Photo)

The Bharatiya Janata Party seems to be catching the fancy of politicians in Punjab going by the decision of at least 10 candidates of the Captain Amarinder Singh’s Punjab Lok Congress party have decided to contest on the BJP election symbol of 'Lotus', rather on the symbol of PLC which is a hockey stick and a ball.

All these candidates are contesting from urban constituencies where the BJP has a strong cadre and have decided to go for the party’s symbol as they feel this would give them a better chance of winning.

Another factor for PLC candidates favouring Lotus is that the BJP symbol is popular among the voters while the hockey stick and a ball symbol is new which is not very well recognized by the electorate.

PLC spokesperson Vimal Sumbly maintains that the three alliance partners have reached an understanding amongst themselves that their candidates will be free to choose any symbol out of the three symbols of alliance partners. BJP is contesting the February 20 Assembly election in alliance with Captain Amarinder Singh's PLC and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa led Shiromani Akali Dal Sanyukt.

PLC's general secretary Kamaldeep Saini contesting from Kharar has opted for Lotus instead of the hockey stick and a ball. Other candidates include Raj Numberdar from Bhatinda (Urban), Jagmohan Sharma from Ludhiana (East), and Prem Mittal from Atamnagar, Ludhiana. The BJP has agreed to allow these candidates to fight on the Lotus symbol while the request of another six PLC nominees is being considered.

Interestingly, the PLC candidates opting for the BJP symbol maintain that they will continue to work under the leadership of Captain Amarinder Singh but technically in case of their victory they will be seated with the BJP MLAs in the Vidhan Sabha. PLC is yet to announce 6 more candidates.

PLC has announced 32 candidates out of 37 seats allotted to the party as part of the alliance with the BJP which is contesting 65 seats and Dhindsa’s party is contesting 15 seats.  

Also read:  BJP takes on board 12 farmers in first list of candidates for Punjab polls