English News

  • youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Theatre artist Satyabrata Rout wins first Oxford Bookstore Art Book Prize

Dr. Alka Pande, Trisha Niyogi, Martine Aamdal Bottheim and Satyabrata Rout winner of the first Oxford Bookstore Art Book Prize

Going beyond the usual, Oxford Bookstore, a century-old chain of book sellers in India, has instituted a new award – India’s only prize – that recognises the value of art in all genres under the broad category of art publication.

Called Oxford Bookstore Art Book Prize, it has been instituted in collaboration with Visual Arts Gallery and the winner of the first edition of this recognition was “Scenography:  An Indian Perspective”. Penned by Satyabrata Rout the noted scenographer and director of contemporary Indian theatre, it is published by Niyogi Books.

Rout, the author and Trisha Niyogi of Niyogi Books were felicitated with a trophy, certificate and Rs.1 lakh cash prize by Dr. Alka Pande, the Chair of Jury Martine Aamdal Bottheim, Minister Counsellor and Deputy Head of Mission at New Delhi’s Norwegian Embassy.

Speaking at the event, Rout said: “The Oxford Bookstore Art Book Award brings a sense of confidence in me. I am thankful to Niyogi Books for bringing my writings to light and the Oxford Bookstore for considering this rare subject— ‘Scenography’ —for this prestigious award.”

The jurors also commended Phyllida Jay’s book “Inspired by India: How India Transformed Global Design”, published by Roli Books.

Arunava Snha and Dr. Devalina Mookerjee (second and third from left) receiving the Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize on behalf of Paramita Brahmachari

Apart from this award, the winner of Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize was also announced. This award given for book design is a first of its kind which attempts to recognize and encourage the extraordinary work of illustrators, designers and publishers. The 8th edition of the award was given to Kolkata based designer, Paramita Brahmachari for her book jacket of “Pebble Monkey” by Manindra Gupta, translated by Arunava Sinha and published by Jadavpur University Press.

Sinha and Devalina Mookerjee, Development Editor at JUP accepted the award on behalf of Brahmachari. They were presented with the trophy, certificate and a cash prize of Rs. One lakh

The jurors also appreciated the work of three other designers. They were Leeza John for “The Memory Police” published by DC Books; Bena Sareen for “Birdwatching: A Novel” published by Aleph Book Company and Ahlawat Gunjan for “Invisible Empire” published by Viking.