English News


Russia working on hassle free visas with six nations including India

PM Modi with Russian president Vladimir Putin

Russia is preparing agreements on a simplified visa regime with six countries, including India, Russian News Agency TASS reported on Monday citing Deputy Foreign Minister Yevgeny Ivanov.

“In addition to India, we are also working on draft inter-government agreements that imply mutual simplification of visa regime with Angola, Vietnam, Indonesia, Syria and the Philippines,” Ivanov said. Earlier, Ivanov said that Russia is working on agreements on visa-free travel with 11 countries, including Bahrain, Oman, Saudi Arabia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Haiti, Zambia, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico, and Trinidad and Tobago, reported TASS.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov visited New Delhi to participate in the G20 Foreign Ministers Meeting last week. In the meeting, Lavrov applauds India’s presidency for G20. He described India as “highly responsible” and “worthy of a great power” on key matters of global agenda and also praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi.


Lavrov further stated that the PM presented a balanced and responsible position as the president of the G20.

India and Russia have historically shared a special relationship with Moscow remaining a steadfast and loyal friend to New Delhi since India’s independence. Realizing India’s potential early on, Russia and its leaders have always held the country and its people in high regard and a natural mutually beneficial relationship has endured through the decades.

India and Russia share a unique relationship, however, one that cannot and should not be solely dictated by other countries, who are not part of this dynamic. Indian and Russian diplomatic ties have been time-tested and are economically symbiotic.

Also Read: India’s steel imports from Russia rise five fold in the last one year