indianarrative

How captain Rishab Pant’s blunder knocked Delhi Capitals out of IPL tournament

Rishab-Pant-ANI.webp

Delhi Capitals captain Rishab Pant with a fan (Photo: ANI)

Delhi Capitals have ended up paying a heavy price for its captain Rishab Pant not asking for a review of the umpire’s decision turning down a caught-behind appeal against Mumbai Indians big hitter Tim David.

David edged the very first ball he played from Shardul Thakur to wicketkeeper Pant who went for a loud appeal with the ball safely in his gloves. However, the on-field umpire ruled him not out.  

Although Pant was widely expected to go for the decision-review system (DRS) he decided not to go ahead after consulting Shardul Thakur and his teammates.

Later, the replays showed a spike on UltraEdge and Pant knew he had made a big blunder.

David, who would have been out for a duck, turned the tables with an aggressive knock of 34 off 11 balls studded with for massive sixes.

Mumbai Indian finally won the match in the last over, but the result could have been the other way around had Pant gone in for a review of the umpire’s decision in the 15th over.

After the match, a disappointed Pant said, "I thought there was something but everyone standing in the circle was not convinced enough so I was asking them -should we go up? And in the end I didn't take the review."

The mistake has put Delhi Capitals out of the tournament.

The four teams to qualify for the play-offs of IPL 2022 are now Gujarat Titans, Rajasthan Royals, Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore.