English News

indianarrative

Twitter shuts offices as Musk goes for massive cut in workforce

Several offices of Twitter have closed down as Elon Musk goes for a massive cut in workforce (Pic. Courtesy ANI)

Twitter will inform its employees by email today about whether they have been sacked as the company has temporarily shut its offices with new owner Elon Musk going for a massive reduction in the workforce.

The social media company said in an email to staff that it will alert employees by 9 a.m. Pacific time on Friday (12 p.m. EDT/1600 GMT) about staff cuts.

“In an effort to place Twitter on a healthy path, we will go through the difficult process of reducing our global workforce on Friday,” a Reuters report cited the email to employees as stating.

Twitter said its offices will be temporarily closed and all badge access will be suspended in order “to help ensure the safety of each employee as well as Twitter systems and customer data.”

The social media platform said Twitter employees who are not affected by the layoffs will be notified via their work email addresses.

Staff who have been laid off will be notified of the next steps to their personal email addresses, the memo said.